Posted on

Almond Cake

Mmmmmm….  I’ve been wanting to make this for ages and the boss’s birthday was a great excuse.  I count myself amongst the luckiest people alive to work with the 3 men I do.  Lovely, lovely people all three.  They keep me amused all day long.  I’m not going to go on about them in case they stumble upon this but they are all so fab it’s barely true.  We’ve had a mad week this week because of the News of the World business.  I work in TV news and Jim who sits next to me has a kind of hotline to breaking news, he always seems to hear about everything first.  Once I was in a pub at lunchtime and I got a text from him saying, “Liz Taylor, she dead” and then more recently when I woke up in the morning, “Bin Laden, he dead” and then this week, on my day off, “News of the World, it dead”.  So it’s been an exciting week for those of us who tentatively work in the world of news.  This week has been like living through Watergate for us.  Legendary.  I can’t remember when I have been more excited about real life…

The cake was a big hit.  The icing was VERY almond-y but the cake itself less so.  I still have about a half hundredweight of almonds in my cooking cupboard so I’ll have to find another almond heavy recipe for them.

I took my first photo of a human being with my new camera today.  My lovely friend Ringo who came round for dinner and a movie.  I made watermelon martinis for me and her mum and she had one without the vodka.  It made my heart glad to see her sipping from a babycham glass proclaiming my non-alcoholic coctktail to be DELICIOUS.

when we went into my calamity of a room to look for some socks I found the “Thinking Head” hat that Vic gave me a long time ago.  it looked sooooooo cool on Ringo and she really wanted it so I gave it to her.  I hope it will bring her creative, kind and wonderful thoughts.

It is pretty cool to have someone around the place of Ringo’s age.  They have a whole different perspective on things.  We watched Pee Wee’s Big Adventure and it took a while for her to get her head around why there was a grown man behaving like a child throughout the film.  Her first question was pretty astute.  “Is he autistic?”  Watching the film as an adult this is something I would never have considered.  But there is an autistic boy at Ringo’s school and I remember very clearly his mother once – mistaking me for Ringo’s mother – saying of her, “Oh she is such a lovely girl.  She was so lovely to Josh when he started here and didn’t know anyone.  She was really friendly and introduced him to everyone”.  And my heart swelled with pride as if she was my own daughter.  Ha ha!

We snuggled up on the big sofa together under a duvet and I kept sneaking a peek to see if she was laughing at Pee Wee’s antics.  I knew she was enjoying it when she laughed long and loud at the “Tequila” section.  That’s my girl!

Recipe from: Come Into the Kitchen Cook Book which I fear has been somewhat neglected since The Treasury came to town…

About jennyhammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about the stars and their recipes in my spare time. This blog will record my attempts to make a Vincent Price dish once a week during the Vincentennial. I'm aiming to celebrate the joy of cooking Vincent Price brought to the world through his cookbooks, sound recordings and television series. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - this site records my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 5 years and counting!

2 responses to “Almond Cake

  1. Lauren

    I love love love almond in baked goods. I need copies of all of Vincent Price’s books! Why are they so expensive?

    The News of the World scandal actually got some press here in the states last night. Makes me wonder what Fox News is up to besides just lying to its viewers…

    Love the “Thinking Head” cap. Ringo sounds like a lovely young lady.

    Also–I watched Vincent Price on What’s My Line? this afternoon. Hilarious!

  2. Mmm almonds!

    If you don’t have a copy of Come Into the Kitchen Cookbook I heartily recommend it. The illustrations are just amazing. It’s a really beautiful book. I was lucky enough to find mine in a second hand bookshop so I didn’t pay much for it. It’s been well used too, the dust jacket is burned in several places where it looks like whoever owned it was reading it over a gas flame!

    It’s all coming out now about journalistic practices over at The News of The World – fascinating. I haven’t bought a copy of that paper for many years but I’ll certainly be buying it tomorrow – the last ever edition.

    Ringo is indeed a charmer. And I checked out YouTube for Vincent on What’s My Line – genius! Thanks for that tip off.

Leave a Reply

