Posted on

Summertime Flan

Heather was supposed to be coming over tonight for Summertime Flan with her friend Mo who is over from Los Angeles.  They stood me up halfway through the making of the flan.  Later Heather sent a text to say that the person that they had stood me up for, had just stood them up.  Seeing as I took the day off work today to see the friend I stood up on Sunday I think we are all just about even on the standing up front.  Lucky we all love each other!

I am saving the flan for tomorrow as Cathy and Ringo are coming over to watch Pee Wee’s Big Adventure.  I’m hoping that Ringo – who is 11 – will find it as funny as I do.  Oh the joy of the scene where he dances in his platform shoes to Tequila!

It was wonderful to see my friend Richard today.  He’s over from Sydney with his chum Frank Yamma who performed today in the pouring rain to a very appreciative audience even though we were all soaked to the bone.  Wonderful touching songs, ooh it made me feel all soppy.  Richard is a kind and generous soul.  A very good person to touch auras with, even if it is only once in a blue moon – a true friendship.

And now, back to the kitchen to make a cake for my boss’s birthday tomorrow.  Will this cooking never end…

Oh yes, I got a funny email from Alastair who took the piss out of my Mulligatawny photo – ha ha!  He said, “Tidelines! Never mind brown. Such a big one too … Did you shove it to give it a more casual look or so that we see the texture?”  Cheeky man!  I’m going to turn up on his doorstep one day soon soon demanding he tell me all the secrets of food photography and asking for a fried egg sandwich.  He made such lovely ones at Arvon.

Recipe from Cooking Price-Wise.

About jennyhammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about the stars and their recipes in my spare time. This blog will record my attempts to make a Vincent Price dish once a week during the Vincentennial. I'm aiming to celebrate the joy of cooking Vincent Price brought to the world through his cookbooks, sound recordings and television series. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - this site records my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 5 years and counting!

2 responses to “Summertime Flan

  1. Lauren

    Summertime Flan looks delish! Sorry you got stood up–that sucks!

  2. Yes, had it tonight and it was yummy. Second time I have made it and definitely recommended. I think the NAME is very good. It adds a certain something to what is basically egg and tomato pie!

Leave a Reply

