Posted on

Mulligatawny!

Brown food is very hard to photograph.  My chum Alastair Hendy told me this and he’s not wrong.   This photo is more about my Hornsea than the soup but I thought the soup was kind of 1970s so why not the crockery too?  Do you like my curry pot?  That’s where the curry powder is (well apart from the two tablespoons that are in the soup).  I often forget that these pots are not just ornamental.  Sometimes I spend hours on all fours rummaging around in my spice cupboard looking for cinnammon or ground ginger until it dawns on me that there is some in the Hornsea.

I don’t think I have ever had Mulligatawny before but I sure do like it.  Lovely comfort food on a rainy night in London.  Not that I need comfort food, but I am kind of pooped.  It’s only 9pm but I’m off to bed in a tick, can’t wait to get under the duvet.  I was up very late last night with Mr S who came round for a nightcap.  I phoned him from Highgate Station about 11pm and he was waiting by the bus stop in front of my flat when I got there.  Ha ha!  There are the benefits of a local house friend right there!

I bought a very cute bottle of Talisker whiskey and we polished off the lot.  When I opened my left eye this morning the empty bottle was right next to my head.  How very rock and roll!  However, I just remembered to my horror that when I had my first sip I said, “Mm, very peaty”.  Peaty?  Who am I?  Jilly Goulden?

Recipe from: Cooking Price-Wise.

About Jenny Hammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about movie stars and their recipes in my spare time. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - over there I record my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 10 years of nonsense and counting!

3 responses to “Mulligatawny!

  1. Moya

    It looks lovely! I’m a tad tired myself since Screen. I found myself getting up at 7 most mornings for the trek through the Botanic Gardens. Hope the soup was as yummy as it looks and that you are sleeping nicely right now.

  2. Lauren

    Love your canisters! They’re too much fun! I’ve never had Mulligatawny since I’m no fan of curry powder. Maybe I could make my own spice mixture and use that…

  3. Curry powder is a weird thing. Over here in the UK it is probably something that has been a staple in people’s cupboards since the 1970s but really gone out of fashion lately. I like it though. it reminds me of my early food awakenings. When my eldest brother started going out with a DIVORCEE (shocking to me and my family then) and they went out for CURRY regularly and he came home once with a curry stain on a nice cream Aran jumper and my mum had to work out how to get that out… How weird that this is one of my earliest memories!

Leave a Reply

