Posted on

Sweetcorn and Potato Pie

This is the kind of food that Heather describes as “warm pap” but I LOVED it.  I’ve been wanting to make this ever since I saw the recipe way back in December.  Sweetcorn is my most favourite food and the idea of a mushy pie with bacon & onions, topped with mashed potato – well, what could be nicer?  Real comfort food for a Sunday night in with “Imitation of Life”.

Coo wee, that Douglas Sirk knows how to make a tearjerker.  I’m like an old wrung out dishcloth after that.

It’s all taking my mind off the fact that I was stung by a Jasper on the lips today.  I was sitting in the beautiful communal gardens of my flat circumventing the “no drinking alone” rule in the Palace of Solitude (in the garden doesn’t count).  A bee or a wasp had got into the can and when I took a swig it buzzed around and stung my bottom lip.  Now I look like Mae Murray.

For a split second after it happened I wondered if I’d go into anaphylactic shock and die right there with my flat in a terrible state and all sorts of things lying around that I’d be ashamed of when the house clearance people came.  I really should tidy up.

Recipe from: Cooking Price-Wise.

About jennyhammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about the stars and their recipes in my spare time. This blog will record my attempts to make a Vincent Price dish once a week during the Vincentennial. I'm aiming to celebrate the joy of cooking Vincent Price brought to the world through his cookbooks, sound recordings and television series. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - this site records my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 5 years and counting!

3 responses to “Sweetcorn and Potato Pie

  1. Moya

    I hope your lip is feeling better–but I’m sure you looked as lovely as Mae. I have had similar thoughts about my place–maybe a big tidy-up-athon is in order when I’m back in a couple of weeks. Why is this trip passing so fast?

  2. Lauren

    Oh no! You have me laughing at your misfortune! I have those thoughts occasionally, like maybe I shouldn’t buy that because I don’t want the cops to find it if I were to spontaneously combust (happens to dozens of people every year!) or something of the sort.

    I’ve never seen Sirk’s version of Imitation of Life, but I have seen the one with Claudette Colbert and enjoyed it.

  3. Yes, we should all keep our places tidy, just in case! I have left instructions with 3 people about what must be destroyed if I suddenly snuff it. I should probably remind them though…

    Lauren, I heartily recommend Sirk’s version. Probably best to watch it alone when you are really in the mood for a big old cathartic sob and an early night.

Leave a Reply

