Posted on

Croque-Monsieur

Wowee.  Ive got a new camera.  And if it can make a Croque-Monsieur look good what else can it do?!  I am very excited.  A new toy.  Yipee-i-o.

I made the “Mr Crunchy” to Vincent’s recipe except for one small detail.  I didn’t have any Roquefort cheese so I used the oddly generically named English Blue that’s been knocking around in my fridge for a while.  It was nice but do you know what?  I like the version of Croque-Monsieur that has Herta Frankfurters with cheese on top the best.  Mmmmm.  I always think of Vic doing his impression of Frank Muir saying, “Heeerta Frankfuuuurters” whenever I think of those processed pork products.

I intended making something much more elaborate this evening as I was kind of hoping that Mr S might come a-calling, but when I finally got to Mr Morrisons there was no sole to be had, so none of Vincent’s “Filets de Sole au Vermouth” for me.  And no Mr S either.

Anyhow, I am very behind with my demonstration video for the Dorothy Lamour Strawberry Ice-Cream which is recipe of the month over at Silver Screen Suppers.  So it’s probably just as well I won’t have a bedfellow tonight.  I can get up early and work on the video before I head into town to meet my mum for the day.  I’d like to send the newsletter out on Sunday at the latest.  I have no idea where June went.

The Desmond Carrington show on R2 was superb tonight.  The theme was “Anyone For Tennis?” and he managed to laud Bing Crosby and cuss Michael Winner almost in the same breath!  The first song was brilliant – Oceana Roll sung by Jane Powell in “Two Weeks With Love” which I have never seen.

I’ve just looked it up on IMDB and the summary reads thus:

“The Robinson family, father, mother and two daughters, are spending two weeks of summer vacation at a resort in the Catskills. Older daughter Patti vies with her friend, Valeria, for the affections of Demi Armendez but Patti is at a disadvantage because her father thinks she is too young for boys. But with Patti singing at an amateur show and a dance, her adventures in quest of Armendez ends happily.”

Sounds like a 1950s version of “Dirty Dancing” – I have to get it!  Nobody puts Patti in the corner!

Recipe from: A Treasury of Great Recipes.

About Jenny Hammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about movie stars and their recipes in my spare time. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - over there I record my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 10 years of nonsense and counting!

One response to “Croque-Monsieur

  1. Lauren

    I go out of town for a weekend and you’ve written a kajillion posts! I’m going directly to the Radio2 website. All the great stuff on the BBC makes me wish we hadn’t declared our independence…

Leave a Reply

