Posted on

Grilled Anchovies

Hangover fodder!  Deliciously salty, garlicky and fishy.  Mmm.  I will probably now have to drink several gallons of water but it was worth it.  Scrum.

Vincent would have been very, very unhappy to hear about Boulestin’s (see his praises above).  Its fate is a terrible thing for London dining in general but a great thing for my intended pilgrimages to all the restaurants Vincent name-checks in the Treasury of Great Recipes.

I am living in somewhat straightened circumstances so I’m going to have to save my pennies for The Rivoli in Mexico City and La Belle Sole in Oslo.  Boulestin’s is no problem on the pocketbook however, it’s now a Pizza Hut.

Recipe from: A Treasury of Great Recipes.  Given to Vincent and Mary by the staff of Boulestin’s.

About Jenny Hammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about movie stars and their recipes in my spare time. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - over there I record my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 10 years of nonsense and counting!

3 responses to “Grilled Anchovies

  1. Lauren

    Nooooo!!! How sad that it’s a Pizza Hut! Boulestin’s looked like such a cool place. I want to get to New Orleans soon (actually only about a 14 hour drive from our house) to go to Galatoire’s and Antoine’s, because their menus are still pretty much the same (except the prices have gone way up) as they are in A Treasury of Great Recipes.

  2. Moya

    How sad. A pizza hut. See you tonight, doll!

  3. Lauren, I loved your comment. As someone who lives on a small island the idea that New Orleans is “only” about a 14 hour drive makes me chuckle! I don’t think ANYWHERE is a 14 hour drive from London!

    I may have to find a wealthy patron to sponsor your visit to Galatoire’s and Antoine’s so that you can report back! As I explore The Treasury and see that there are many more restaurants mentioned than I originally thought it seems unlikely I’ll visit them all in my lifetime. so I’ll have to live vicariously through my readers!

    I have entered the Euromilions draw though. If I win a huge amount of money I’ll be doing the “Treasury Trail” for sure…

Leave a Reply

