Posted on

Spinach and Eggs Grisanti version 2

It didn’t feel right to be without a picture of the finished dish so I made it again tonight.  Mmm. This time I had parmesan and bacon so it was just as Vincent’s recipe.  Mm.  I think version one was nicer.  I think that the Grisanti brothers would have approved of the substitution of pancetta first time around but not the use of Double Gloucester cheese instead of parmesan.

I am feeling very virtuous tonight as I have just given my kitchen a good clean.  It’s not because anyone is coming over in the near future, it just needed it, so I did it.  Feels good.  I also squeezed in a 10 minute sit down with the Treasury to ponder what I might make next.  Was pleased to see that Vincent’s recipe for potted shrimp was given to him by Boris Karloff and his wife.  I’ve just written the Boris Karloff piece for the Silver Screen Suppers book so I’ll see if I can work that factoid in somewhere.

Shame I am a bit afeared of shrimp.

They are talking about Glastonbury on the radio, it starts tomorrow and apparently it is already really muddy…

Recipe from: The Treasury of Great Recipes.  Here’s a link to a great article about the Grisanti family business which throws some light on where Vincent got this recipe: http://www.henningerconsulting.com/images/pubs/edhmmpprofile.pdf

About jennyhammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about the stars and their recipes in my spare time. This blog will record my attempts to make a Vincent Price dish once a week during the Vincentennial. I'm aiming to celebrate the joy of cooking Vincent Price brought to the world through his cookbooks, sound recordings and television series. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - this site records my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 5 years and counting!

One response to “Spinach and Eggs Grisanti version 2

  1. Lauren

    Grrr. I have to give my kitchen a good scrubbing today. Definitely not my favorite thing to do!

    I, too, was thinking I needed to try the Boris Karloff potted shrimp. I’m not afraid of shrimp, just the “potted” part. I made potted meat with the extra ground lamb that I had from making haggis last Burns Night. Both the potted meat and the haggis were a total disaster. The whole experience nearly turned me off lamb entirely. At least potted shrimp wouldn’t have any lamb livers in it…

Leave a Reply

