Posted on

Spinach and Eggs Grisanti



I couldn’t find my camera so couldn’t take a photo of the delicious Spinach and Eggs Grisanti so here is a picture of the ingredient that probably makes it taste so lipsmackingly good.  Yes, I know MSG is BAD but I have a whole bag of it to use up since the Red Buttons Shrimp Tempura and if Vincent says put some in, I put some in.

Last night I didn’t have any dinner as I was DJing at the very posh 33 Portland Place, grand residence of the Duke of Davenport and one of the locations in The King’s Speech no less.  All I had a chance to eat was a movie star themed cup cake (an Ava Gardner I think) washed down with a few glasses of champagne. I thought I might as well stick to champagne as I had it for lunch!

Mr S came round to borrow my tent, his band is playing at Glastonbury and I like the idea of him waking up in the mud under canvas and sticking his arm out to get the Trangia lit for his morning cuppa.  Like Natalie Goldberg I do like to know the specific words for things and I loved it when I got down the cooking stove and Mr S said, “ah, a Trangia.”  Yes.

We were both hungry and fell asleep fantasizing about what we would have for breakfast.  Mexican eggs were discussed, plus Eggs Benedict with spinach.  As usual when there is a sleepover with Mr S, there was no time in the morning for much more than coffee so I think the idea of that kind of breakfast stayed with me all day and I had it for tea instead.  Delicious.

Recipe from: A Treasury of Great Recipes.  Given to Vincent by Grisanti’s, Memphis, Tennessee.  I need to do some research on this one.  The current Grisanti’s has only been around for 25 years or so and the Treasury was published in 1965 so I am thinking that it may have been the restaurant operated by the father of the current Grisanti.  I’m going to make that spinach again for sure so I’ll come back to Grisanti’s…

About jennyhammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about the stars and their recipes in my spare time. This blog will record my attempts to make a Vincent Price dish once a week during the Vincentennial. I'm aiming to celebrate the joy of cooking Vincent Price brought to the world through his cookbooks, sound recordings and television series. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - this site records my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 5 years and counting!

5 responses to “Spinach and Eggs Grisanti

  1. Lauren

    I got my copy off the shelf to have a look at the recipe–sounds delicious. I think I’ll just add some extra salt so I don’t have to deal with the MSG!

  2. Ha ha! I bought the smallest bag of MSG I could find for one of the Daring Cooks Challenges – do you know about them? It’s great fun – http://www.silverscreensuppers.com/red-buttons/red-buttons-shrimp-tempura

    the bag of MSG is still massive but I can see from The Treasury that Vincent is a fan of it so I’ll gradually chip away at it…

  3. Lauren

    I’ve actually been kicked out of the Daring Kitchen forums twice–for not completing enough Daring Baker challenges in a year. The first time, I never even got around to trying anything and this time, I did two months and got pissed off at it. I either didn’t want to make whatever it was or it seemed like too much work, the last part being entirely my fault for signing up for something with “daring” in the title. Maybe it’s from being an only child or not really ever having to hold down a job, but I bristle at their arbitrary rules. (Although it seems like Daring Bakers is much more rule-oriented than Daring Cooks.) So, there’s the short(ish), sad story of how I’m too riddled with character flaws for the Daring Kitchen.

  4. I’m laughing out loud here in London! Kicked out – TWICE! You bad woman. I guess i am the type who LOVES rules. I really like being told what to do. Mind you, I also really like being told off so I guess if I get pissed off with it too I’ll rather enjoy being kicked out….

  5. Lauren

    Let’s hope it doesn’t come to that! I’m glad you’re enjoying it and I hope you continue to!

Leave a Reply

