Posted on

Breast of Chicken Au Champagne

Is this the most decadent spinster’s Sunday lunch ever?  mmmm – OMG – delicious.  I had intended making this for my lovely friend Gary who came to stay on Friday night.  We met in my local pub and got so enthralled with the comings and goings of the burly boys there that we put away 2 bottles of rose as we watched like a pair of cats.  My resistance is low at the moment and I knew I was too drunk to cook so Gary bought an enormous pizza instead.  I felt very bad as Gary always makes me wonderful food when I go and stay with him, but I had to face it, I was lit.

We drank most of the bottle of champagne with the pizza but luckily, as we were already smashed, we didn’t drink it all.  I popped a spoon in the top to stop it from going flat and made Vincent’s champagney chicken for me, myself and I on Sunday.  Butter, cream and champagne.  Perfect combination for a rich, rich, rich scrumptious sauce.  I had another go at the Petits Pois a la Francaise – I burned them, but they were still lovely.  The whole thing was delicious and the best thing is, I made the whole recipe so there are three helpings of chicken in the freezer for a later date.

And yes, I DID buy French champagne Vincent.  Bien sur!

I watched The Awful Truth and unusually for a screwball comedy, it got quite a few laughs out of me.  I particularly liked the fact that the dog was called Mr Smith.

I also liked the quote by the frisky aunt Patsy character about rebound relationships:

“You know what rebound is? That business of trying to get over one love by bouncing into love with somebody else? It’s fine, except the rebound is rarely the real thing. As a matter of fact, it’s the bunk. There’s the first bounce, then the second bounce, and, well look at me. You wind up like an old tennis ball.”

Boing boing…

Recipe from: A Treasury of Great Recipes – given to Vincent by The Whitehall Club, Chicago.

About jennyhammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about the stars and their recipes in my spare time. This blog will record my attempts to make a Vincent Price dish once a week during the Vincentennial. I'm aiming to celebrate the joy of cooking Vincent Price brought to the world through his cookbooks, sound recordings and television series. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - this site records my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 5 years and counting!

6 responses to “Breast of Chicken Au Champagne

  1. Lauren

    I haven’t seen The Awful Truth in such a long time. I need to clear some space on my Tivo for the next time it’s on TCM. The chicken looks fabulous–how could anything with champagne and cream be bad? The having-to-buy-a-pizza thing happens ’round here, too. It usually happens when I get caught up doing other things (like checking blogs!) and then realize that, somehow, it’s now 7:30 p.m. and I haven’t even thought about dinner! Maybe I need to start setting a “start dinner” alarm!

  2. ha ha! I love the idea of a “start dinner” alarm. I know exactly what you mean. I am so easily distracted, especially where bottles of wine are concerned…

  3. Scott W.

    Good heavens. I’m actually making this recipe tonight for about the 10th time, which is how I stumbled onto your blog. I cook from this book constantly. In fact, I read it in bed whenever I have insomnia.

    Great project – i’m glad I stumbled onto it near the beginning, and wish you luck. I can’t wait to see how the “press duck” recipe turns out, whenever you get to it…

    • Hi there Scott! I love the fact you use the Treasury to lull you to sleep. And you’ve made this 10 or so times? Wonderful! Do you quaff the rest of the champagne as you are cooking or do you save it for your guests?! JX

      • Scott W.

        I have a friend who always shows up early when I make this. I put a champagne coupe on the kitchen table for him, and another by the stove for me. By the time the other guests have arrived, the secret ingredient to this delicious dish is wholly out of sight.

  4. You have no idea how much I laughed when i read this! That is EXACTLY what I shall do next time I make it x

Leave a Reply

