Posted on

Quiche Lorraine

I had intended making a parsnip and stilton flan, to use up the parsnips that had been hanging around in my fridge for a week or so.  But I’d totally forgotten I ate them with Mr P on Sunday.  So there was a dearth of parsnips.  I had everything I needed for a quiche though and I followed Vincent’s recipe with two variations.  I used cubes of pancetta rather than streaky bacon and double gloucester in place of gruyere.

The salad is Joan Crawford’s Wilted Spinach Salad but I’ll whisper this – it’s not as nice as Vincent’s…

I ate a lot of Quiche in the 70s.  I think we thought it was very FRENCH and therefore quite exotic.  My mum used to buy great big ones, very deep and eggy in foil cases and warm them up in the oven.  I remember it being quite a household favourite.  This would be a good thing to make for a picnic.  Will anyone invite me to a picnic this summer I wonder?

Whenever I think of Quiche Lorraine I think of this B-52s song which in turn makes me think of earning pocket money working in my dad’s poly tunnels weeding conifers listening to Wild Planet on my walkman.  Must get some B-52s on vinyl.

Admittedly, there is a lot of BACON in both of these recipes, but Vincent loved bacon.  There is a whole recipe dedicated to the stuff in Cooking Price-Wise.  I am looking forward to the time when I attempt the “Bacon in a Common Crust” which is photographed decorated with a rather fetching Union Jack piped on with who knows what.

Stop press: I took the rest of the quiche into work and Jim said, “Oh my God that is GOOD!” then after another bite he did a finger snap and said, “BOOM!”  I think it may be to do with my Vincent style three finger pinches of salt.  Jim has a hangover…

Recipe from: the aforementioned bacon chapter of Cooking Price-Wise.

About jennyhammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about the stars and their recipes in my spare time. This blog will record my attempts to make a Vincent Price dish once a week during the Vincentennial. I'm aiming to celebrate the joy of cooking Vincent Price brought to the world through his cookbooks, sound recordings and television series. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - this site records my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 5 years and counting!

10 responses to “Quiche Lorraine

  1. Pingback: Joan Crawford Wilted Spinach Salad | Silver Screen Suppers

  2. Lauren

    I love quiche, Double Gloucester and the B-52s. Sounds like a lovely meal. I hope you get invited to lots of picnics!

  3. Moya

    Double Gloucester sounds like an improvement, I have to say–much yummier. And I like the B-52s too. We have to have a picnic!

    Have you seen Epic Meal Time on youtube? they love bacon…

  4. Mmmmmm! Yes Moya, when you are here maybe I’ll make a veggie version. Lauren, when are you coming over?! Perhaps I will THROW a picnic. Will have to find a William Holden lookalike to get his shirt off as above…

  5. All the boys I work with loved the Quiche – i should have known. Boys sure do love bacon – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wZDv9pgHp8Q

  6. Moya

    They sure do. Have you seen the epic meal time videos on youtube? I’m sure I passed the link onto you last week.

    Looking forward to seeing you very soon–picnic or no!

  7. Yep, the link was to a video of them all eating MASSIVE amounts of bacon for breakfast. I particularly liked the lattice-work effect of their rashers of bacon plaited up and crisped in the oven. Crazy boys!

  8. Pingback: Alfred Hitchcock’s Quiche Lorraine | Silver Screen Suppers

Leave a Reply

