Posted on

Apricot Stuffed Shoulder

Here’s an action shot of me carving the lamb, it was scrumptious but not very photogenic.  You can see what was fuelling the evening in the background, the bottle of Stoli that Sanja brought to the Vincentennial Party and barely touched.

Mr P came over and as he is currently living in a place where cooking is difficult I wanted to make a roast dinner.  The joint of lamb I bought probably should have served 4 but we ate almost all of it between us.  Vincent’s stuffing was quite simple but effective, apricots, onion, butter, parsley and white breadcrumbs.  I used red onions and chopped everything pretty finely as I am sure Vincent would have wished.

I trussed up the shoulder in a fairly random fashion once I had rolled it up with the mulch inside, and some of the stuffing fell out during cooking. That was fine though as Mr P rustled up a wonderful gravy with all the juices and a bit of wine.  I made roast potatoes and roast parsnips which even though I say so myself were pretty perfect and Vincent’s french style peas – see above.  It was all delicious, thank you Mr Price.

We watched “The Abominable Dr Phibes” after dinner, what a great movie.  Mr P had grown some face fungus for the occasion so didn’t need the “house moustache” I had bought for him.  I wore mine for a bit.  I loved the film, absolutely bonkers but it was sort of luminous.  My favourite quote was, “A brass unicorn has been catapulted across a London street and impaled an eminent surgeon. Words fail me, gentlemen.”  Me too…

Spot the difference competition:

Dr Phibes

Me

Recipe from: Cooking Price-Wise

About jennyhammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about the stars and their recipes in my spare time. This blog will record my attempts to make a Vincent Price dish once a week during the Vincentennial. I'm aiming to celebrate the joy of cooking Vincent Price brought to the world through his cookbooks, sound recordings and television series. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - this site records my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 5 years and counting!

2 responses to “Apricot Stuffed Shoulder

  1. Moya

    It sounds like such a fun night! You are so good keeping up with both blogs, doing all this yummy cooking and still finding time to work, play and watch movies.

Leave a Reply

