Posted on

A Treasury of Great Recipes

I’m in LOVE!  The Treasury of Great Recipes arrived this week and oh my good gawd it is AWESOME.  There has never, ever been such a brilliant cookbook, I am sure of it.  I’m going to be banging on about this book for the whole of the Vincentennial I am sure.  The glorious photographs, the delicious sounding recipes, the titbits about Vincent and Mary’s home decor and entertaining style, even the note about the FONTS used…  STOP, I am having palpitations.

For example, the caption for the photograph above reads: “In the late afternoon we like to entertain beside our swimming pool.  Mary’s gift to me for Father’s Day was this real British high tea, complete with Raspberry Fool, Potted Shrimp and other friends too numerous to mention.”  Oh yum.  And look at the splendour of the pool house.  I need to get me one of those.  I fear my scanner will be going into overdrive and I will be looking for totem poles on ebay so that I have “visual aids for happy eating.”

Most of the recipes are adapted from meals Vincent and Mary shared in restaurants all around the world.  The list of locations is droolworthy and my synapses are sizzling as I start hatching a plan for visiting every one of them in my lifetime.  69 venues including The Doreado Beach Hotel in Puerto Rico, Harry’s Bar in Venice, Hotel Hana-Maui in Hawaii, The Racquet Club in Palm Springs, Forum of the Twelve Caesars in New York, Dikker and Thijs in Amsterdam…  Oh my goodness, I feel another massive piece of experiential research coming on.

Now, where do I get myself a sugar daddy to fund this new project?

Stop press: SIGH, thanks to this fabulous article about the Forum of the Twelve Caesars I see the opportunity for trying their Filet Mignon Caesar Augustus is now long gone.  Constantia et virtute – I shall seek out those that still trade…

 

About Jenny Hammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about movie stars and their recipes in my spare time. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - over there I record my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 10 years of nonsense and counting!

One response to “A Treasury of Great Recipes

  1. Lauren

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE my copy. I love the blurbs before the recipes and the old menus. It’s the best! Can’t wait to see what you decide to cook!

Leave a Reply

