Posted on

Baked Pork Chops Country Style

I made a schoolgirl error with my pork chops.  My mum always told me to read the recipe ALL THE WAY THROUGH before starting.  And if I had done that at 7pm I’d have seen it took 3 hours to cook and therefore I’d be in bed before it was finished.   So I might never have started!   Grr.  So anyhow, they are in the oven and I’ve had watermelon and feta salad for my din dins instead.  Now that was all very nice and all, but it sure aint no pork chops!

I usually go to bed about 9.30 so I’m watching a movie so I can stay awake to get my chops out of the oven.  Klondike Annie with Mae West.  OMG she is just so fantastic.  I was just thinking that watermelon and feta is no dinner for a buxom girl like I, and now here is Mae, in all her pneumatic splendour making men fall at her feet.  Awesome.  I bet she’d prefer a pork chop to a piece of watermelon.  Ha ha, that big lug Victor McLaglen has just clocked her. Maybe a big old bruiser like that is what I need to make me feel like less of a biffer.

I’ve looked up Mae’s vital statistics.  We are the same on the bust and hips but I’d need a Merry Widow corset on the tightest lacings to get anywhere near her waist.

Stop press: out of the oven.  Looks and smells delicious.  Stole a couple of potatoes off the top and they were soft and salty and yummy.  The pancetta melts in the mouth.  I am HAVING a pork chop for my lunch tomorrow for sure.

Anyhow, as Mae would say, “Turn back the sheets, I’m heading for the arms of Morpheus”.

Recipe from: Cooking Price-Wise

About Jenny Hammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about movie stars and their recipes in my spare time. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - over there I record my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 10 years of nonsense and counting!

4 responses to “Baked Pork Chops Country Style

  1. Lauren

    Mae West totally rocks! Netflix doesn’t have a copy of Klondike Annie, so I guess I’ll have to hope TCM shows it sometime soon, because I haven’t seen it! I think it’s amazing that people talk about how “big” Mae West and Marilyn Monroe were. “MM was a size 14!” No one ever mentions that a size 14 in the 1950s is a modern US size 6 or 8. Anyway, now that I’ve gone off-topic, I look forward to the results of your pork chop experiment. I’m trying to imagine why they took three hours!

  2. Moya

    Sleep well, sweetie. I am glad you at least got a little carbs and a touch of protein before bedtime.

  3. mmmmm – it was LOVELY! Just ate half for my lunch and the other half is in the freezer. Basically the chops took 3 hours as they were in a casserole with potatoes, onions and CIDER on a low heat. Everything turned out lovely and moist and garlicky and appley. Rustic!

    Yes, Lauren I agree with you about how some of the stars were categorised as being “big”. They are always the ones I love though, Diana Dors, Jane Russell, Mae – ladies with dangerous curves!

    I’m going to have to find a way of downloading films on my computer. I don’t have a TV so no TCM for me. My DVD projector has a slot for a memory stick though so I’m going to investigate downloading options as I am spending a small fortune on DVDs at the moment. I might even be able to link my computer up to the projector. Need to investigate…

Leave a Reply

