Posted on

Lasagne Napoli

Ptolemy and I were discussing the new trend for “messy” food photography the other day so here’s a messy photo of my messy lasagne.  It is HUGE!  This will keep me in dinners all week I reckon.  I didn’t read the recipe properly and when I’d got it in the oven I was left with a big ball of mozzerella.  This Vincentennial project is going to be good for using up things that I buy and forget about, which happens quite a lot.  I’m going to find one of his recipes with mozzerella in.  Or maybe I’ll just make a pizza.  Where is my Sophia Loren cookbook?

I’m half watching “Beyond the Valley of the Dolls”.  But so far, not many good lines to quote, apart from “Up yours Ratso!”  Good to see quite a few familiar faces from the old days though, Erica Gavin who was just fab in “Vixen” and the meathead guy from “Faster Pussycat! Kill Kill!”.   I was sad to see that Tura Sutana passed away this February.  Sometimes I channel Varla when I am feelling Amazonian. “Superwomen!  Belted, buckled and booted!”

I think maybe the reason I’m not enjoying this particular Russ Meyer film as much as the others is that all the girls are nice.  There are no nasty, mean girls.  Ooh, hold on, here’s Erica, maybe she’s going to turn out to be nasty…  Oh no, she’s nice.  Shame.

Up yours Ratso!  R.I.P. Tura

Recipe from: Come Into the Kitchen Cook Book

About jennyhammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about the stars and their recipes in my spare time. This blog will record my attempts to make a Vincent Price dish once a week during the Vincentennial. I'm aiming to celebrate the joy of cooking Vincent Price brought to the world through his cookbooks, sound recordings and television series. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - this site records my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 5 years and counting!

One response to “Lasagne Napoli

  1. Lauren

    Looks absolutely divine–a perfect companion for delightfully trashy films! Darn it, I really want some lasagne now!

Leave a Reply

