Posted on

Wilted Spinach Salad With Bacon Dressing

Scrumptious!  I was suspicious of the dressing which was made from beaten egg, 2 types of vinegar and sugar but it was really good.  I’d been craving something GREEN after grazing on all the leftovers from the party  (predominantly yellow food like cheese and eggs). This did the trick alright.  It was really tasty.  I used a 260g bag of spinach, half the oil but kept all the other ingredients the same.  I scoffed half and will take half for lunch tomorrow.  Aint I thrifty?!

I’ve been waiting for the phone to ring and now it is 10pm.  So I guess I’m not going out dancing tonight after all…  No matter.  I’m watching “Party Girl” with Douglas Fairbanks Junior so that’s keeping me amused.

Recipe from: Cooking Price-Wise.

About Jenny Hammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about movie stars and their recipes in my spare time. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - over there I record my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 10 years of nonsense and counting!

6 responses to “Wilted Spinach Salad With Bacon Dressing

  1. Joy Enzor ⋅

    I had the book but gave it to my son…need this bacon spinach salad recipe

  2. Saundra Cecil ⋅

    I used to have this recipe but now can’t find it. Any chance I could get a copy? We used to have dinner parties with friends who prepared dishes from the 1965 Vincent Price book A Treasury of Great Recipes. So good!

  3. Pingback: Joan Crawford's Wilted Spinach Salad - Silver Screen Suppers

Leave a Reply

