Posted on

Vincentennial Party

My party was fabulous!  All the food was a hit, especially the Melon Monster (above), Summertime Flan and Creole Potato Salad.  There was just about the right amount of food for 6 of us (Churchieface phoned with an apologetic “exsqueeze me” as he wanted to watch the football).  Sanja bought the wherewithal for Bloody Marys which seemed an apt drink for a Vincent Price themed evening.  Heather made the party eggs and James helped me with the chess board, coming up with excellent concepts for the kings and the castles (skull and crossbones muffin case capes for the kings, and flags fashioned from tiny pieces of red and green lettuce for the rooks).  The cucumber crocodile was the source of much amusement as people arrived and the chessboard just made me laugh every time I looked at it.  See the splendour….

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FCcgIc6lKBw

I didn’t get time for my siesta before the party so caught a few zeds during the movie as is tradition after a large silver screen supper.  I was awake during the poodle pie sequence though and we all loved it when Vincent cracked an egg into a bowl and started whisking it.  EGGS!  We all shouted, closely followed by CHEESE!  As the vast majority of the recipes had one or other of these things in.

My mum always says that she “hates leftovers” but I kind of love them!  Especially the kind of leftovers you find in your bath when all of the ice has melted – 10 cans of beer and an almost full bottle of vodka.  My determination not to drink alone in the Palace of Solitude will be sorely tested with all of that hanging around the place.

All recipes from: Cooking Price-Wise.

About Jenny Hammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about movie stars and their recipes in my spare time. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - over there I record my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 10 years of nonsense and counting!

4 responses to “Vincentennial Party

  1. Moya

    I so love that crocodile!–the melon is great but the croc is hysterical It looks like a great party and I look forward to reading about more Vincentennial dishes.

  2. El Cotter ⋅

    Just watched the video – ‘Price’less. Loved the croc, gonna have to make me one of those. x

Leave a Reply

