Posted on

Vincentennial Year Begins

Yesterday was the 100th anniversary of the birth of Vincent Price and today I begin the Vincentennial cooking project.  I’m throwing a party to launch this blog and all the food will be Vincent’s own.  On the menu:

Cucumber Crocodile and Melon Monster

Decorated Tuna Fish

Summertime Flan

Cheesed Party Eggs

Chess Board (the pieces are made of cubes of cheese with dyed cocktail onions and little flags)

Creole Potato Salad

Guests are: Vic, Corinna, Heather, Nathan, James, Sanja and possibly Nick.  All the lovely people who helped me move into my Palace of Solitude one year ago today (Becky and Stephen are away alas).  After the sumptuous buffet above we’ll watch “Theatre of Blood” on the DVD projector.  It is going to be quite a night!

I need a little siesta before I begin preparing the above…

About Jenny Hammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about movie stars and their recipes in my spare time. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - over there I record my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 10 years of nonsense and counting!

5 responses to “Vincentennial Year Begins

  1. Millie

    This is THE greatest idea ever. I LOVE Vincent Price!

    • Aw thanks Millie – I’ve just been looking through all his cookbooks and the question is WHAT do I do next? There are so many brilliant things to choose from. This is going to be a lot of fun! Jx

  2. Lauren

    Love this idea! I made two recipes from A Treasury of Great Recipes for my own Vincentennial.

  3. Hi Lauren – I was going to ask “which ones?” then I nipped over to your blog. Oh yum, yum, yum. The chicken looks wonderful but OH THOSE EGGS! I am salivating! It’s Saturday morning here and I’m wondering if I have all of the wherewithal to make some of those for myself. They look gorgeous…

    • Lauren

      If you make them, I strongly recommend an accompaniment of fizzy water or some such indigestion-preventative. I should have mentioned that with my post… Of course, after 5 years of testing movie star recipes, you probably have an iron-clad stomach!

Leave a Reply

