Posted on

Hungarian Goulash

Here is the beef, rolled in HUNGARIAN paprika, pepper and salt.  Oh how I do love a goulash.  This is the second of the goulash recipes Vincent has in Cooking Price-Wise.  It differs from the one I usually make as it contains yoghurt but no wine.  it was very, very good indeed.

I used the paprika I had brought back from Budapest a couple of weeks ago:

I fear I am beginning to be a paprika snob.  This paprika was just head ans shoulders above all the other paprika I have in my spice cupboard (and I seem to have a lot of different pots of paprika…).  It had such a beautiful smell when I cut open the packet and it wasn’t the smokey paprika or the slightly bitter paprika I have in other pots, but just delicious red peppery powdery paprika.  mmmmmmmmm.  i wish, I wish, I wish when I was in the indoor market in Budapest just a couple of weeks ago that I’d bought many different bags of paprika to try them all out instead of just three – one for me, one for Corinna and one for Charlie.  Mind you, I’ve lost the one I bought for Charlie so goodness knows where that might be in my bomb site of a flat.

I will have to go back to Budapest.  And not  just for more paprika.  But also because this week Heather dropped the bombshell that none of us would ever, in a million years  have anticipated.  That the indoor pool of the Gellert has a RETRACTABLE ROOF.

We thought we knew EVERYTHING about the Gellert but none of us knew this….

We will have to go back in the summertime.

Recipe from: Cooking Price-Wise.

About jennyhammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about the stars and their recipes in my spare time. This blog will record my attempts to make a Vincent Price dish once a week during the Vincentennial. I'm aiming to celebrate the joy of cooking Vincent Price brought to the world through his cookbooks, sound recordings and television series. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - this site records my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 5 years and counting!

Leave a Reply

